2017/2018 NPFL season to kickoff January

Akwa Utd, CHAN Eagles to partake in curtain raiser


Organisers of the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) the League Management Company (LMC) have confirmed that the new 2017/18 NPFL season will kick off second week of January, 2018.

According to a top official of the LMC, they have discussed with the clubs and reached an agreement to kick off the new season in January next year.

The source also revealed that activities for the new season will start in December with the Super Six in Kano State instead of the Super four.

“After discussions with the clubs for weeks, we have reached an agreement to kick off the new season mid-January, but activities for the new season will start in December. The clubs are aware of this latest development and they will be ready for the new season calendar,” said the source to Naijafootballplus.com.

The Super Six in December will have all the four NPFL teams that would compete on the continent next season.

League champions Plateau United, MFM FC and Enyimba International who finished second and third respectively last season will be joined by  Aiteo Cup champions Akwa United, the host team Kano Pillars and Super Eagles B Team.

“We are expanding the Super four to Super Six this term, two invited teams will join the four teams that will represent Nigeria on the continent. The host team is Kano Pillars while the Super Eagles B Team have been included to start preparation for the 2018 CHAN tournament in Morocco,” the source added.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply