2018 World Cup: CAF set-up Committee for African teams


The Confederation of African Football (CAF) Executive Committee, has set up a committee to map out support for African representatives at the 2018 FIFA
World Cup in Russia.

Africa will present five countries in Russia next year. Nigeria, Egypt, Morocco, Senegal and Tunisia have all qualified after the just concluded World Cup qualifiers.

Ahead of the FIFA World Cup draws on December 1st, CAF have named Ghana FA
President and CAF 1st Vice President, Kwesi Nyantakyi as the head of the Support Committee while Kalusha Bwalya and FA’s Presidents of all the qualified countries would be members of the Committee.

The CAF Support Committee for African teams that qualified for Russia 2018 are expected to hold it’s first meeting on the sidelines of the draws ceremony next month in Kremlin Palace, Moscow.

Africa best performance in World Cup history has been a quarter final finish, only three African countries have finished in the last eight at the World Cup.

Cameroon was the first country to achieve the milestone at Italian 90, Senegal got to the last eight in 2002 despite being debutants.

Ghana got close to the semifinal but were denied by a Luiz Suarez hand-ball and an Asamoah Gyan penalty miss in the quarter final match in 2014.

Nigeria will be making their sixth appearance at the World, while Morocco
and Egypt stage a return to the World Cup after missing out for over two decades.

Senegal will make their second appearance and Tunisia wit their fifth World Cup appearance.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply