2019 AFCON Qualifier: Iwobi, Success returns, as Rohr lists 24 players for Libya Clash


Ahead of the 2019 African Cup of Nations qualifying game against Libya, Nigeria Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rohr has invited 24 players for the clash.

Arsenal forward Alex Iwobi who missed the Seychelles match due to injury headlines the players invited alongside rejuvenated Watford forward Isaac Success.

The team consists of 3 goalkeepers, 9 defenders, 4 midfielder and 8 strikers.

Nigeria require atleasr four points from the two games to have a realistic chance of returning to Africa’s biggest football competition after missing the last two editions.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Elche FC, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nasr FC, Saudi Arabia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Italy); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux FC, France); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply