CAF Confederation Cup: Possible clashes for Nigerian club sides


Following the draw procedure released by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) for the CAF Confederation Cup play-off draws, Nigeria Professional football league sides Enyimba, Plateau United, MFM FC and Akwa United might be pitted against each other in the event slated for Wednesday.

Based on the performance of the 32 teams in the draws, four Pots were established according to the clubs five-year ranking.

Four clubs relegated from the CAF Champions League were seeded (Pot A), and top four ranked teams from the CAF Confederation Cup (Pot B).

The remaining 12 teams from the CAF Champions League were drawn into Pot C and the others from the Total CAF Confederation Cup in Pot D.

NPFL champions, Plateau United failed to progress to the group stage of the champions league following a 4-3 aggregate loss to Etoile Du sahel, while MFM capitulated to MC Algers  7-2 over two legs.

Two time African champion Enyimba edged out Energie FC of Benin 5-2 on  aggregate and Aiteo cup champions Akwa united defeated Ittihad of Libya 3-2 via penalty shout.

Enyimba based on its ranking is in Pot B, both Plateau United and MFM are in Pot C while Akwa United is in Pot D.

According to CAF the first draw will be to determine the matches between teams from Pot A and Pot D. The procedure will be repeated four times.

After, a ball from Pot B will be drawn against Pot C to determine the matches. The procedure will be repeated four times.

Once completed, the remaining eight teams from Pot C will be drawn against other eight from Pot D. One ball from Pot C will be drawn against another ball from Pot D. The procedure will be repeated eight times to complete the fixtures.

Pot Schedule

Pot A: El Hilal (Sudan), Saint George (Ethiopia), AS Vita (DR Congo), Zanaco (Zambia)

Pot B: USM Alger (Algeria), Supersport (South Africa), Hilal Obied (Sudan), Enyimba (Nigeria)

Pot C: ASEC Mimosas (Cote d’Ivoire), Mounana (Gabon), Young Africans (Tanzania), Williamsville (Cote d’Ivoire), Aduana (Ghana), Gor Mahia (Kenya), UD Songo (Mozambique), MFM (Nigeria), Plateau (Nigeria), Rayon Sport (Rwanda), Generation Foot (Senegal), Bidvest (South Africa)

Pot D: CR Belouizdad (Algeria), La Mancha (Congo), CARA (Congo), El Masry (Egypt), Niefang (Equatorial Guinea), Wolaitta Dicha (Ethiopia), Fosa Junior (Madagascar), Djoliba (Mali), RS Berkane (Morocco), Raja Club Athletic (Morocco), Costa do Sol (Mozambique), Akwa (Nigeria)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply