CHAN Eagles: Salisu announce 20 players for Benin qualifier


Super Eagles coach Salisu Yusuf has released a list of 20 players to prosecute Sunday’s African Nations Championship qualifier against Benin Republic in Cotonou.

Amongst the twenty are captain of the side goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa and his assistant, left back Chima Akas.

Nigeria Professional Football League top goalscorer Stephen Odey is also a notable addition to the list of players that will depart to Cotonou tomorrow.

The list has Akwa United’s midfield trio of Ibrahim Alhassan, Aremu Afeez, Ifeanyi Ifeanyi and defender Emmanuel Ariwachukwu.

Abia Warriors hitman Sunday Adetunji misses out due to the injury he suffered last weekend against Lobi Stars.

Enyimba captain Mfon Udoh and Plateau United’s Elisha Golbe were notable exclusions alongside Lobi Stars keeper Okiemute Odah.

The Confederation of African Football has appointed Algerian referee Mustapha Ghorbal to take charge of proceedings at the Stade de l’Amitie on Sunday, starting from 4pm.

He will be assisted by compatriots Mokrane Gourari (Assistant Referee 1), Mohammed Serradj (Assistant Referee 2) and Said Aquina (Reserve Referee).

The African Nations Championships is a tournament exclusively for footballers playing in their countries domestic leagues.

Nigeria failed to qualify out of the group stage of the tournament hosted by Rwanda last year. They missed out of the first two editions but won bronze in 2014.

Full squad list:

Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC); Dele Ajiboye (Plateau United)

Defenders: Orji Kalu (Rangers International); Stephen Eze (FC IfeanyiUbah); Ariwachukwu Emmanuel (Akwa United); Chima Akas (Enyimba FC); Nasiru Sani (Katsina United); Osas Okoro (Rangers International)

Midfielders: Hafiz Aremu (Akwa United); Raphael Ayagwa (Lobi Stars); Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Akwa United); Rabiu Ali (Kano Pillars); Samuel Mathias (El-Kanemi Warriors); Alhassan Ibrahim (Akwa United)

Forwards: Sikiru Olatubosun (MFM FC); Thomas Zenke (Nasarawa United); Stephen Odey (MFM FC); Kingsley Eduwo (Lobi Stars); Ifeanyi George (Rangers International).


Information from the NFF was used in this report.

About Ekine Moseph 132 Articles
Ekine Moseph is a Nigerian and German football enthusiast, Football writer, Nigeria league content provider and Editor-in-chief Follow him on Twitter: @ekine4

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply