Moses, Ndidi, Okpotu, Oshoala nominated for NFF awards


The AITEO/Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) inaugural awards is set to debut on Monday, 19th February 2018 with the nominees in the various categories having been revealed by the Nigerian football governing body on its official twitter handle.

The awards ceremony which is slated for the Eko Hotels & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos is a platform for the recognition of Nigerian players and managers across all grades who have distinguished themselves in their own ways and this one would acknowledge the prominent roles they have played over the 2017 football year.

For the Men’s Player of the Year category, Victor Moses who played a key role as Chelsea won the Premier League title and progressed to the final of the FA Cup last season has been shortlisted alongside Leicester City central midfielder, Wilfred Ndidi who has been nothing short of phenomenal since transferring from Genk in January 2017. Both Premier League stars who equally helped Nigeria to qualify for the Russia World Cup finals are joined on the list by African Nations Championship star, Anthony Okpotu who starred for the CHAN Super Eagles as they just about fell short of the title in Morocco early this year.

In the Women Player of the Year category,  Super Falcons star, Asisat Oshoala who was recognized as the best female player of the year 2017 by CAF is also in the running for this one alongside Charity Reuben and Francisca Ordega.

Ex-MFM striker, Stephen Odey, El-Kanemi Warriors sensation, Nura Mohammed and Enyimba’s Ikouwem Udoh have been nominated for the Young Player of the Year (Men) category. Aside Odey who is currently plying his trade with Switzerland Super League club, FC Zurich, after his goalscoring heroics in the NPFL, the other nominated duo were present for the CHAN Eagles in their run to the final of the Morocco tournament.

Also to be recognized are Rasheedat Ajibade(FC Robo Queens), Anam Imo(Nasarawa United) and Gift Monday(FC Robo Queens) the trio of the Super Falconets players of who will compete for the Young Player of the Year Women category.

There is also a recognition slot which goes for the Goal of the Season with MFM’s Sikiru Olatunbosun’s screamer versus Enugu Rangers, Shedrack Asiegbu (Abia Warriors v Plateau United) and Oche Salifu (Remo Stars v El Kanemi) all slugging it out for the top goal prize.


Photo Credit: NFF Twitter.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply