Nigerian Sports Award: Moses and Oshoala named footballers of the year


Victor Moses has been named the best Nigerian​ male footballer, beating Lobi Stars’ Anthony Okpotu and former MFM FC (now of Zurich FC) Steven Odey to the prize at the 2017 Nigerian Sports Award.

Moses, who has been the most consistent if not the most important player to the Super Eagles​’ unprecedented clean sweep to 2018 World Cup, was, however, beaten to the sportsman of the year category by the sensational Aruna Quadri.

Meanwhile, in the flip category, Asisat Oshoala was the recipient​ of the award for the Women’s footballer of the year ahead of fellow Super Falcon Ebi Onima and Falconets’ Captain, Ajibade Rasheedat.

However, Plateau United’s Head Coach Kennedy Boboye was beaten to the Coach of the year award by Akuh Purity, Head Coach of the Nigerian women wrestlers.

The event was held at the Banquet hall, Eko Hotel and Suites on Friday.

About Shehu Idris Tẹjumọla 110 Articles
Shehu Idris Tẹjumọla​ is a final year student of Mass Communication at the University of Lagos, with the sobriquet "Unchoppable Eba". He is a football fanatic, a voracious reader of football contents and an Indefatigable football writing junkie.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply