Nigerian trio up for MVP awards in Belgium


Nigerian trio of Simon Moses, Anderson Esiti, and Samuel Kalu have all been nominated for Gent’s most valuable player award for the 2016/2017 season.

Nana Asare of Ghana won the MVP award last season, and is still in line to make it 2 in succession.

Other players challenging for the award are Yuya Kubo, Jérémy Perbet Lovre Kalinic, Samuel Gigot, Stefan Mitrovic, and Rami Gershon.

Thomas Foket, Brecht Dejaegere, Thibault De Smet and Louis Verstraete complete the list.

The award which will be handed to the player who gets the highest number of votes after two rounds of voting, is in memory of Jean-Claude Bouvy who was a legend at the club.

The 2016/17 MVP of the season will be announced on Thursday, May 18th at Gent’s last home game of the season against SV Zulte Waregem.

Former super Eagles defender Austin Eguavoen remains the only Nigerian to have won the award in the 1988/1989 season.

Moses Simon has made 29 appearances for Gent, scoring five goals. while Anderson Esiti who joined this season has made 29 appearances across the season. Samuel Kalu on has scored two league goals in 14 games.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply