Omagbami, 9 others nominated for FIFA award


A panel of Women’s football experts have shortlisted Super Falcons coach Florence Omagbemi and 9 others for The Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2017 award, can report.

FIFA on Thursday released contenders for The Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2017 award taking place in London on Monday 23 October.

Omagbami led the Super Falcons to their eight CAF Africa Women’s Cup of Nations (AWCON) title last year in Cameroon. Nigeria defeated hosts Cameroon 1-0 in Yaoundé in the final game, Desire Oparanozie scored the winner for the Super Falcons.

Omagbami was nominated alongside Chelsea Ladies coach Emma Hayes, FC Barcelona Femeni coach Xavi Llorens and French national team coach Olivier Echouafni.

All the nominated coaches;
* Olivier Echouafni (FRA – French national team)
* Emma Hayes (ENG – Chelsea Ladies)
* Ralf Kellermann (GER – VfL Wolfsburg)
* Xavi Llorens (ESP – FC Barcelona Femeni)
* Nils Nielsen (DEN – Danish national team)
* Florence Omagbemi (NGA – Nigerian national team)
* Gerard Precheur (FRA – Olympique Lyonnais Feminin)
* Dominik Thalhammer (AUT – Austrian national team)
* Sarina Wiegman (NED – Netherlands national team)
* Hwang Yong-Bong (PRK – Korea DPR / Korea DPR U-20 national teams)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply