Rohr drops Moses, invites 23 for South Africa clash


Victor Moses
Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr has named his 23-man squad to face South Africa in the 2019 AFCON qualifier in Uyo next month, understands.
The Franco-German coach has dropped Chelsea FC star Victor Moses for the matchday one encounter of the AFCON qualifier against the Bafana Bafana.
MFM FC duo Sikiru Olatunbosun and Stephen Odey were also dropped despite their match appearance against Corsica. Two NPFL stars made the list, FC Ifeanyi Ubah goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa and Akwa United top scorer Ibrahim Alhassan.
Zamalek defender Maroof Youssef has been called up for the first time. The former Kwara United defender was invited as replacement for injured Leon Balogun.
Chelsea FC teenage star Ola Aina missed out from the squad due to incomplete paper work. He is yet to be cleared by FIFA.
The Super Eagles will tackle South Africa in the opening match of Group E of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying race at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium, Uyo
Full Squad:

Daniel Akpeyi
Ikechukwu Ezenwa
Dele Alampasu.
Elderson Echiejile
William Ekong
Chidozie Awaziem
Tyrone Ebuehi
Kenneth Omeruo
Maroof Youssef
Abdullahi Shehu.
Ogenyi Onazi
Wilfred Ndidi
Mikel Agu
John Ogu
Oghenekaro Etebo
Alhassan Ibrahim.
Ahmed Musa
Kelechi Iheanacho
Kayode Olarenwaju
Henry Onyekuru
Alex Iwobi
Victor Osimhen
Simon Moses.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply