Super Eagles, Moses, Rohr, Oshoala, Ajayi, Falconets all nominated for CAF Awards


Organizers of the AITEO CAF Awards on Monday, shortlisted Victor Moses for ‘African Player of the year’ award and also released nominees for other categories with Super Eagles and their Coach Gernot Rhor, Al Ahly’s Junior Ajayi, Asisat Oshoala and the ferocious Falconets all up for awards.

Moses was listed among 11 others from the previous 30 announced few weeks back. Mohammed Salah, Sadio Mane, Pierre Emerick Aubameyang, Naby Keita were also listed among others.

Al Ahly’s forward, Junior Ajayi was also shortlisted for the ‘African Player of the year based in Africa’ alongside team-mates Ali Maulool and Ahmed Fathi.

The Super Eagles’ almost immaculate World Cup qualifying campaign earned them a ‘National Team of the Year’ nomination alongside African Champions Cameroon, Egypt and Mali U17 and Zambia U20.

Super Eagles Technical adviser Gernot Rohr is also in line for the ‘Coach of the year’ gong alongside Egypt’s Hector Cùper, Cameroons’ Hugo Broos, L’Hussein  Amouta and Mihayo Kazembe.

Super Falcons forward Asisat Oshoala, who’s been massively influencial in China, has 4 other women to beat to the Women’s footballer of the year prize.

The darting train of goals and victories of the Falconets was also recognized and nominated for the :Women’s national team of the year’ award.

Votes from the members of the CAF Technical & Development Committee, CAF media experts panel and independent media and TV consultants will decide the winners on Thursday 4th of January 2018 in Accra, Ghana.

Full List of categories and nominees

National Team of the Year:

Mali U-17
Zambia U-20

Coach of the Year:

Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)
Hector Cuper (Egypt)
Hugo Broos (Cameroon)
L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)
Mihayo Kazembe (TP Mazembe)

Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)
Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)
Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & Rossyanka)
Rutendo Makore (Zimbabwe & Black Rhinos)
Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Kvarnsvedens)

Women’s National Team of the Year

Ghana U-20
Nigeria U-20
South Africa

Club of the Year

Al Ahly
Mbabane Swallows
SuperSport United
TP Mazembe
Wydad Athletic Club

Youth Player of the Year

Ayiah (Ghana & Charity Stars)
Krepin Diatta (Senegal &Sarpsborg)
Luther Singh (South Africa & Braga)
Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)
Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)


Referee of the Year

Bamlak Tessema (Ethiopia)
Ghead Grisha (Egypt)
Janny Sikazwe (Zambia)
Malang Diedhiou (Senegal)
Mehdi Abid Charef (Algeria)
Papa Bakary Gassama (Gambia)

About Shehu Idris Tẹjumọla 110 Articles
Shehu Idris Tẹjumọla​ is a final year student of Mass Communication at the University of Lagos, with the sobriquet "Unchoppable Eba". He is a football fanatic, a voracious reader of football contents and an Indefatigable football writing junkie.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply