VAT Wonder goal: Plateau United’s Odafe beats Najeem Raji to award


Plateau United’s Emmanuel Odafe has emerged the VAT wonder goal 13th winner, beating Sunshine Stars’ Najeem Raji and Elkanemi Warriors’ Tchoanfine Pade to the prize.

Odafe gathered 77 votes just a little over Najeem’s 66 votes but well beyond Pade’s 36 votes to win the Goal prize.

The goals nominated were all beautifully headed goals. Odafe’s goal was a bullet header which he powered in against Shooting Stars on matchday 32, Najeem’s was also of the same conversion against Wikki Tourists in Bauchi and Pade’s header proved vital as Elkanemi edged Akwa United 1-0.

The Mid-season recruit is the first Plateau United player to clinch the award since it was introduced by League Management Company​ (LMC) in partnership with Federal Inland Revenue Service ( FIRS)  at the start of the second stanza of the 2016/17 Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL)

Odafe will be given ₦150,000 (One hundred and fifty thousand Naira) cash prize that will be donated to a charity home from within the located state of the Club.

Past winners:

Ayo Saka (Rivers United), Friday Ubong (Akwa United), Ochowechi Salefu (Remo Stars), Pascal Seka (FC Ifeanyiubah), Ahmed Usman (Wikki Tourists), Wasiu Alalade (ABS), Rabiu Ali (Kano Pillars), Sani Abbani (Gombe United), Victor Chidume (Remo Stars), Shedrack Asiegbu (Abia Warriors), Emeka Ogbugh (Rivers United), Ikechukwu Ibenegbu (Enyimba FC).


About Shehu Idris Tẹjumọla 110 Articles
Shehu Idris Tẹjumọla​ is a final year student of Mass Communication at the University of Lagos, with the sobriquet "Unchoppable Eba". He is a football fanatic, a voracious reader of football contents and an Indefatigable football writing junkie.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply