Wasteful Enyimba edge Plateau United 1-0


Andrew Abalogu’s long range strike in the 69th minute for Enyimba handed the host a 1-0 victory against Nigeria Professional Football League table-toppers​ Plateau United in a Matchday 22 fixture played at the U.J. Esuene stadium in Calabar.

Plateau United almost shocked the home side with an early lead in the sixth minute through Hamzat Owolabi’s deflected strike which forced Fatau Dauda to adjust his position and tipped the shot over for a corner-kick.

Enyimba were unfortunate not to have gone into the break with a lead as Mfon Udoh and Ugochukwu Leonard were culprits in attack missing chance after chance as both players lacked composure in front of goal.

Thanks to Enyimba’s ​profligacy, Plateau United stayed in the game until nine minutes after the hour-mark. Faced by a defender, Ugochukwu Leonard down the right flank laid the ball off for Abalogu who took a first-time shot at goal, although Dele Ajiboye in goal for Plateau United got his hand to the ball, the power behind the shot was too strong for the keeper.

Injuries, substitutions by both sides and a bit of time wasting by the home side ran the clock down before Referee, Olayinka Olajide sounded his final whistle much to the relief of the home supporters.

With the victory Enyimba climbed to 5th position with 34pts on the log while Plateau United remained top of the table with 39pts.

The People’s Elephant are next in action on Wednesday when they travel to face Gombe United. Plateau United on the other hand visit Sunshine Stars in Akure on Matchday 23.

Match Details

ENYIMBA: 22. Fatau Dauda 11. Andrew Abalogu (Samson Gbadebo 83′), 27. Chima Akas, 12. Kelly Kester, 5. Ifeanyi Anaemena, 24. Nelson Ogbonnaya, 10. Mfon Udoh (Joseph Osadiaye 61′), 19. Ibrahim Mustapha (Ifegwu Ojukwu 75′), 18. Ugochukwu Leonard, 15. Ikechukwu Ibenegbu, 13. Stanley Dimgba

Unused Subs: 1. Theophilus Afelokhai, 8. Chinedu Ohanachom, 28. Olufemi Oladapo, 30. Lordson Ichull.

PLATEAU UNITED: 21. Dele Ajiboye, 31. Hamisu Saleh (Benjamin Turba 82′), 3. Daniel Itodo, 5. Jimmy Ambrose, 6. Elisha Golbe, 24. Salomon Junior, 18. Igho James, 33. Lazarus Fan, 26. Sunday Ngbede (Chukwuemeka Umeh 64′), 13. Odafe Emmanuel (Kabiru Umar 67′), 16. Hamzat Owolabi.
Unused Subs: 1. John Gaadi, 4. Chima Ndukwu, 28. Emmanuel Olowo, 34. Bitrus Wash.

About Ekine Moseph 132 Articles
Ekine Moseph is a Nigerian and German football enthusiast, Football writer, Nigeria league content provider and Editor-in-chief naijafootballplus.com. Follow him on Twitter: @ekine4

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply