Manchester City’s Leroy Sane dropped as Low announces Germany World Cup squad


By Olakunle Ajao. 


Leroy Sane is the surprising omission as Germany head coach Joachim Low announced his final FIFA World Cup squad for Russia. The squad was cut from 27 to 23 today, and Sane, voted the Premier League’s Young Player of the Year last season, is notable by his absence from the list.
The squad was announced by Germany via Twitter, and it didn’t include, as Low opted instead for Marco Reus, Julian Brandt and Julian Draxler as his wide-men. Sane’s Manchester City teammate Ilkay Gundogan makes the cut, as does Mesut Ozil, Antonio Rudiger as well as Sebastian Rudy among others, while skipper Manuel Neuer is included despite missing much of last season.
The other three players omitted are Bayer Leverkusen duo Bernd Leno and Jonathan Tah, and Freiburg forward Nils Petersen. Germany are in Group F of the World Cup, alongside Sweden, South Korea and Mexico, the latter of whom they face in their opening game on June 17.


Germany squad

Marc-Andre Ter-Stegen (Barcelona)
Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)
Kevin Trapp (PSG)
Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich)
Jonas Hector (Koln)
Niklas Sule (Bayern Munich)
Marvin Plattenhardt (Hertha BSC)
Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich)
Matthias Ginter (Monchengladbach)
Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich)
Antonio Rudiger (Chelsea)
Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)
Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City)
Sami Khedira (Juventus)
Mesut Ozil (Arsenal)
Julian Brandt (Leverkusen)
Julian Draxler (PSG)
Leon Goretzka (Schalke)
Sebastian Rudy (Bayern Munich)
Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich)
Marco Reus (Dortmund)
Timo Werner (RB Leipzig)
Mario Gomez (Stuttgart)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply